Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |

WPHA’s advocacy efforts are framed by the WPHA Board of Directors, and acted on monthly by the Public Affairs Committee. The Public Affairs Committee is a partnership with the Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards (WALHDAB). The two organizations jointly support a lobbyist.

This portion of the website includes resources and information that guide the organization, and could also guide local members. Highlights include:

  • Advocacy 101 Webinar - Listen in for tips and tricks on advocacy work, meeting with your legislator, and making an ask.

  • Advocacy DO's and DON'T's - There are many things we should do when reaching out to our local, state and national leaders. Also, what we shouldn't. View this fact sheet for some additional recommendations.

  • Legislative tools – Members can download a pocket directory of legislators, find out who their legislator is, and learn more about advocacy.

  • Resolutions – WPHA has a long history of resolutions that outline some of its fundamental positions. A list of recent resolutions is online; older resolutions are available by request.

  • Member input forms – WPHA members can request that the Public Affairs Committee take specific action on a policy, plan, proposal, or piece of legislation.

The Public Affairs Committee promotes health policy development by recommending action and educating members and public officials about legislative issues.

2019 Committee Chair
Sue Kunferman

WPHA Joint PA members
Sue Kunferman (Co-Chair) - Wood County Health Department
Amy Williamson - UW School of Medicine and Public Health
Maureen Busalacchi -- Advancing a Healthier Wisconsin Endowment
Jan Klawitter - WI State Lab of Hygiene
Darren Rausch -- Greenfield Health Department
Geof Swain -- UW School of Medicine and Public Health
Darcie Warren - American Lung Association in WI

WALHDAB Joint PA members
Linda Conlon (Co-Chair) – Oneida County Health Department
Amanda Dederich - Juneau County Health Department
Ruth Wood - Pierce County Board of Health
Elizabeth Giese – Eau Claire City-County Health Department 
Mary Dorn - Outagamie County Public Health Division
Jim Stecker – Calumet County Board of Health
Mark Edgar - Public Health Madison & Dane County

View the WPHA-WALHDAB Joint PA Committee Meeting Notes here.

Community Search
Sign In

Latest News
Events Calendar