Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Public Heath News

A Working Framework For Research-Informed Legislation Prohibiting Preschool Expulsion & Suspension

Wednesday, February 5, 2020  
Share |

Institute for Research on Poverty

Webinar Series

A Working Framework For Research-Informed Legislation Prohibiting Preschool Expulsion And Suspension

 

Feb 5, 2020
2–3 pm Eastern, 1–2 pm Central, 12–1 pm Mountain, 11 am–12 pm Pacific

 

 

Alysse Loomis
University of Utah

Annie Davis
Georgetown University

 

Yonah Drazen
Institute for Research on Poverty

 

In 2005, a landmark national study by Gilliam revealed that preschool children were being expelled or suspended at a rate that was three times higher than that for K-12 programs. Children exposed to exclusionary discipline such as expulsion and suspension often experience educational and socio-emotional challenges as a result of these types of punitive practices, which disproportionately affect young boys and children of color.

In this webinar, Alysse Loomis, Annie Davis, and Yonah Drazen will provide an overview of what we know about the use of exclusionary discipline in early childhood education settings, the status of state-level legislation to prevent or limit the use of exclusionary discipline with preschool students, and offer suggestions for developing legislation informed by the latest available research evidence. The presenters will propose a framework for evaluating relevant legislation and discuss evidence-based alternatives to exclusionary discipline.

 

 

Add to calendar

 

 

Upcoming webinar:

February 19, 2020
The Role of Fathers in Children's Health
Tova Walsh, Darryl Davidson, and Craig Garfield


Community Search
Sign In


Latest News
Events Calendar